Membership of the Local Access Forum

Members of the Forum are appointed by the three authorities to serve a term of either two or three years. The Forum’s membership is made up of people with an interest in the countryside and access, though not necessarily representatives of organisations. Interests that it is hoped to have represented by the Forum include:

~ walking, cycling, horseriding and recreational motor vehicle use
~ landownership and land management
~ accessibility
~ tourism
~ access provision
~ relevant professions

Michael Orlik (Chair) is one of the country’s leading solicitors on highway and rights of way matters and now practices in Stratford-upon-Avon and writes regularly for the Surveyor and Rights of Way Law Review. Previously he worked for four different highway authorities for over 20 years including the position of chief executive of a borough council. He is a member of the Environmental Law Foundation and walks regularly in the Warwickshire countryside.

Claire Sangster (Vice-chair) is a business consultant. She has been a parish councillor and has been involved in the Parish Paths Partnership Scheme. She is a school governor and is currently Chair of the Warwickshire Governors Association.

Annabel Arnold owns and farms a 600 acre mixed farm in North Warwickshire including a herd of milk cows. She has been the farmer representative member of the non statutory Warwickshire Rights of Way Forum (now known as the Countryside Access Liaison Group) and has an interest in definitive map modification orders.

Perminder Balu been engaged in ‘Rights of Ways’ since the 1990’s, and a member of this LAF for many years. He is a Chartered Surveyor with extensive experience in planning, land and Project Management across the aggregates, waste management and sustainable transport sectors. Previously a member of the Birmingham Local Association of the RICS, and remains an active Local Authority School Governor.

Cllr Lynette Kelly is the Coventry City Councillor for Henley ward

Peter Butlin is the Transport and Highways Portfolio Holder for Warwickshire County Council and is the County Councillor for Admirals Ward

Kevin Hiatt has been interested in horses for 45 years, taught by a Lt.Col.ex-Indian Army Cavalry. His normal day job was as a Consultant Engineer , working for among others the MOD / USAF. He is now a volunteer with the BHS for the Warwickshire Area..

Sheila Cooper farms a flock of Category II endangered, rare breed Castlemilk Moorit Sheep, on her smallholding in Berkswell, near Coventry. She enjoys promoting and showing her sheep at agricultural shows in the Midlands and Southern England. She has also enjoyed a long lived interest in Welsh Ponies. She was the founder Chairman/ Secretary of the reformed Warwickshire Support Group for the Rare Breeds Survival Trust and still sits on the Committee. She is also Secretary of the Castlemilk Moorit Sheep Society. She has been a Governor of the Royal Agricultural Society for over 35 years. Sheila is very committed to conservation in general and rare breeds and their “keepers”, in particular.

Mike Murray is a Chartered Town Planner with over 30 years’ experience in countryside management and environment planning.  While working for Coventry City Council, he managed Coventry’s Countryside Project (Green Belt Management Service) for 25 years and is one of the founding members of the joint Local Access Forum.  Mike has been involved in numerous environmental partnerships and is also a Volunteer Planning Consultant with the National Trust.

Tom Newbery has managed a family farming business and now manages a mixed farm of 350 acres near Shipston on Stour and undertakes farm contract work. The farm is included in the Countryside Stewardship Scheme. He has previously been chairman of the Warwickshire Grassland Society and a local branch of the NFU.

Joe Carroll gained a National Certificate in Agriculture at Warwickshire College of Agriculture and has experience in Milk production, beef, sheep and mixed arable farming, together with Agricultural Mechanisation. He is a freelance Access Consultant acting for various organisations and public bodies. Joe is an Inclusive Design Assessor for the Civic Trust and a keen conservationist, being interested in Ornithology particularly and natural history in general. He is a member of the SIA and the Centre for Accessible Environments and is keen to help to promote good access to the countryside for all.

Robin Hickin is the current secretary and National Rights of Way officer for the Trail Riders Fellowship and is a previous Director of Saltisford Canal Trust and Trading. His interests include Leisure Trail Riding and Rights of Way Improvement.

Gina Rowe is Head of Living Landscapes (Projects) at Warwickshire Wildlife Trust.  She has worked at the Trust for over 5 years, developing partnership working, major funding and strategic approach to landscape scale work for the benefit of biodiversity and engaging people. She has been involved in practical wildlife conservation with volunteers for many years at BTCV from 1985, from delivery of projects on the ground including access construction work, through to managing teams of staff and volunteers and to undertaking regional development work. She is chair of the Local Biodiversity Action Partnership and of the Local Wildlife Sites Panel.

Vaughan Owen has been proposed by Warwickshire & West Midlands Association of Local Councils which represents the views of local Town and Parishes. He has been Chairman, twice and is now vice chair. He is a member of the West Midlands Regional Association of Local Councils, where representatives of Town and Parish Councils meet to highlight problems in the larger area; these are then passed on for discussion at the appropriate level.  He was a member of the board of Warwickshire Rural Community Council until recently.  He has been a Parish Councillor since 1999 and is actively involved in rights of way preservation and retention of hedgerows in the local countryside. He also represents his Parish Council when interacting with HS2 Ltd.

Roger Stone has been a land agent and surveyor for over 50 years. He has previously been chairman of Warwickshire Branch of the Country Landowners Association and Branch Chairman of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. He helped with the waymarking of the Heart of England Way and has walked many routes including the Cotswold Way.

Bob Tinley has been Secretary of the Cyclists Touring Club Coventry and Warwickshire District Association since 1995. He regularly cycles both on and off road and has organised cycling events. He has worked as a civil engineer for Birmingham and Coventry City Councils and Severn Trent Water and now works as a computer software engineer.

Steven Wallsgrove is a Senior Planning Officer with Warwick District Council. He has held a number of positions at both Group and Area level of the Ramblers Association. He has been a Local Group Footpath Secretary since 1974 and Area Footpath Secretary for Warwickshire, Coventry, Solihull and Birmingham since 1986. He is also currently the Ramblers Area Countryside Secretary. He has been closely involved in the creation of a number of public routes, securing other countryside access and the preparation of a wide variety of strategic plans.

John Windmill is the Solihull Metropolitan Borough Councillor for Olton.